Another newbie

Silver

Hello! I've been lurking around these forums for a week or so, trying to get the lay of the land, and you all seem like a great group of people and I thought I would join in.

Now for a little bit about me. I'm 32 year old Canadian mother of 1 (she's 14 months), and I've been building dollhouses since I was 4 years old. Really. My first house was out of a kleenex box. After that I progressed to shoebox houses, and from there to scratch building houses out of cardboard, and anything else I could find. The only actual kit houses I've even built as a Greenleaf Westville when I was a teenager and a Fairfield that I have been working on since 1997. Most of the interior is done, but I need to finish the attic and the outside - I'm very anal about what it looks like, which is part of the reason I've been working on it for the past 11 years (the other is life got in the way and a lack of space to build). I'm addicted to 1/2 scale, and even when I was scratch building, I was building in that scale (or something pretty close since it was really my *own* scale).

My dream house has always been the RGT Thornhill, except now I really want the 1/2 scale Colonial Thornhill kit filled with Bespaq furniture. Its amazing how our tastes *mature* as we get older!! I wonder if I can convince my husband to give me that for the next 50 birthdays and Xmas??

I'm looking forward to finally having a place where I can talk miniatures and houses with people ('cause I don't know anyone IRL), and getting to know everyone - up until now I've really enjoyed looking at everyone's pictures!

Thanks for taking the time to read this. :idiot:

Welcome, Kristin. I have just begun to work in 1:24 scale with the "pueblo" dollhouse kit from HBS.

Hi and :) to the group!

Wow, I did'nt know Bespaq mad 1/2 scale! I guess I have'nt been looking.

I first found out about it when we were at Earth & Tree and I saw their display.