I Finally Got One!!! :)

Prozax

When my husband asked me what I wanted for Christmas, I told him that all my life I have wanted to build a dollhouse. He asked me to pick one out so I did... The Garfield. I LOVE Victorian anything. I am not new to miniatures but I am new to building houses or furniture. For many years I have made items for dollhouses (a lot of them my own designs) by crochet, crewel, needlepoint, Japanese bunka, and various other materials. I collect old crochet books and have several books with miniature patterns. Now I finally have my very own dollhouse that I can decorate for ME! (It only took 52 years LOL) I'm very excited and began working on it January 1, 2005. I will be asking a lot of questions I'm sure.

Here is my First one: I am unsure using a hot glue gun. Even though I use one for many, many things, I would not have thought to use one to join wood. Do they really work well? Seems like it would make too much of a gap between the wood pieces.

I'm glad to have been informed by Greenleaf about this forum and I look forward to sharing tricks, tips, ideas and a whole lot of other things.

Hugs!

Valerie

Congratulations and welcome!

Do not use a hot glue gun. Put down the hot glue gun and back slowly away. :)

You're absolutely right about the potential gaps. Recently, I've been the lone hold-out in even trying hot glue... and I have to agree with the majority: tacky glue or carpenter's glue are better for assembling the shell. You get a more solid, square fit with tacky glue than with hot glue.

No, I have no idea why the instructions call for hot glue. :huh:

Hi Vallerie

Welcome to the forum and congratulations on your wonderful Garfield house!! :huh: