I'm a real newby.

jjacks

I just received my Garfield kit and am suddenly wondering if I bit off more than I can chew. I am trying to concentrate on reading the directions over and over again to get a feel of where to start. :) I am retired and have lots of spare time and want to take my time with this and make something I can be really proud of.

Are there any special tips or help out there as to where to start? I gather I need to pick out paint colors etc., but do you work on the outside of the house or the inside first? Do you paint everything that will be painted before you start to assemble? I want to electrify the house also. I know this to be done before wallpaper and rugs etc.

I'm sure once I get into it, everything will fall into place. I'd appreciate any help that's out there.

jjacks

I am a newbie too and am working on my first dollhouse. That is wonderful that you have the time to take your time! (did that make any sence?) Anyway, I think what you are doing is great. Getting familiar with the instructions and being patient are probably the best things you can do. Make sure to post lots of pict so we can share in your mini journey.

Welcome!

I think the scariest part of these houses is opening your first box!

Before you start make sure you have everything you need. A square, level, plenty of fine sandpaper, spackle/filler and of course glue. A pile of emery boards and a couple of pencils with fine sandpaper wrapped around them will also be handy.

I do not use hot glue to build because I view my houses as potential heirlooms. I do use hot glue or other fast drying glue to tack stuff while wood glue on large pieces dry. I also use tape books, paint cans, for this but this you will figure out yourselves when the time comes!

Some things I have learned about slot and tab houses:

Follow the instructions and do not remove anything from the sheet before instructions say to.