Scratch build cottage

debra

Hi, I thought you would like to see what I have been up to this weekend, I got a couple of orders for dollshouses for Christmas yikes its only a matter of days away, so I must not dally.

I know you all love to see progress pics, so I have popped the pics to date into my new gallery on webshots, I hope it links ok, I am new to it.

It is a 5 roomed cottage made of 6mm and 3mm MDF with pre made windows and doors, I will add some more trim to it as I go along, with verandah posts and fancy corners, with post and rail along the front of the verandah, there will be icypole stick wood flooring on the verandah floor, and the inside will be all fitted out with wainscotting and cornice and trim, it is sort of in between a kids dollshouse and an adults big fancy dollshouse, it would be great for a beginner to enter the world of miniatures, without spending a fortune on a detailed house, or having to buy a plain childs toy.

The house is only dry fitted at the moment, hence all the crooked windows doors etc, I assure you it will be all straight when I actually glue it lol.

I have a couple of orders for these, and they are all going to be a little different, I dont like to make the same thing over and over.

It will also have wood siding and shingles, with the house painted yellow, and the windows doors and trim all in crisp white.

I hope the recipient likes it. It is quite big and is to 1/12 scale.

The next one will be two story with different trim and windows.

I will post more progress pics as I go along, I am giving my beloved Beacon Hill a rest at the moment. lol. For two reasons, 1. I have to get these done for Christmas, and 2, am stuck on a colour scheme, I am having wisteria all along the verandah and hanging down, (Lots of it) so I don't know weather to make the house a colour to suit this or what to do, oh dear, any help would be appreciated lol.

Cheers Debra.

My scratch built cottage