Hello from Seattle

Shanna

Hi, obviously I'm new here, and new to dollhouses and miniatures. I started doing a small art studio room box for my grown daughter, and it's coming along well. I found what was supposed to be a CD holder in the shape of a little house at Michaels craft store. It had two levels, so I cut off the bottom so it's just one room and am in the process of staining and... the glossy stuff, varnish? lol! It's been a long week, and it's only wednesday.

I work full time as a PM at Microsoft, have 3 grown kids (moved out), and 6 yr old fraternal twin girls (7 next month, and in 1st grade). They have dance class on Wednesdays, we host a small group bible study at our house on Thursdays, PTF at the school every other Monday.... I barely have time to breath, but I really needed a hobby (rotfl). Why? b/c I needed something that was "mine" to do. :blink: So, I decided to take up miniature dollhouses. Did I mention that I'm slightly insane?

I just bought the Fairfield - it should arrive next week and I'm so excited! I'm doing lots of research before I begin (being a PM I know how important the planning phase it to a successful project). Of course, I'm already planning lots of kit bashing. I want to try and do the house as close to a typical victorian period house as possible, with a formal entry hall, parlor, kitchen with a servants entrance in the back, etc. It's going to be fun, and I'm sure I'll have LOTS of questions.

First though, I have to finish an artist studio room box for my grown daughter, and a very quick little playhouse for my 6 yr old twins. (As usual, I'm taking care of family first). Once I finish those, I'm going to get to work on the Fairfield! Oh, did I mention that we're also having plans drawn up and considering doing an addition to our real home? This is silly, but fun!

Looking forward to getting to know everyone!

Shanna

Hi Shanna & welcome to the forum!

I'm across the water from you (sort of), in Poulsbo.