New member to the group

meglet

Hello- My name is Meg and I am new to the dollhouse world. We have just bought the Pierce for my 5 year old daughter. My Dad has offered to build it for us and hopes to get it done by Christmas. He is a skilled carpenter and has done some furniture building and model building in the past but has never built a dollhouse. He is also retired so he has a fair amount of time-so we will see... I would like to leave as much of the inside unfinished so that we can decorate the rooms with my daughter as she grows. I have read that staining and scoring the floors is best to do prior to gluing. What else needs to be done on the interior prior to the build? Should we coat the walls with a primer or can that be done after it is built. He lives 2 hours away from me so I will not be able to consult with him in person that often so is there someplace on-line that I can find the room plans or layout. He also does not have internet, as crazy as that sounds, so I hope to post questions for him as they arise. I am so excited I keep going on line to look at the dollhouse. I think I might be more excited than my daughter will be!

Hi and :) Meg!

In my opinion it's easier to prime and wallpaper prior to assembly however, some have successfully done it differently.

I just can't fit my hands in the tight spaces after assembly. Really and truely, it's what works best for you!

Good luck to you dad, and how sweet he is!

:) Meg!

There are some tight spaces in the Pierce that might be hard to get at once it's built. I have one that I'm working on rehabbing, and it is looking like it would be MUCH easier to do painting & wallpaper, at least in the small spaces, *before* putting it all together permanently.

Another bit of advice, apparently the Greenleaf instructions suggest using hot glue to build it, DON'T! Whoever built mine used hot glue and it's now falling apart. (It's not a pretty sight! :drool: )

~Jeni