Hello and Help!

Beloved

:beer: Hi,

I'm brand new to both making dollhouses and chatting on line. I've always loved dollhouses and minitures. Perhaps it's because I'm under 5 feet and shrinking (or is that miniturizing). I'm 57 years young, a kid at heart and love to play and have fun. :lol: I love to learn new things and through the years have picked up a bit of knowledge about tools and how to fix things that need fixing. :p

I have decided to build my first minature dollhouse. Trouble is, I don't know where to start. :yikes: I really like the front opening dollhouses but don't know which one would be a good first choice. Like Goldilocks, I don't want a house to big or too small . . . but just right. I also would like to wire it for electricity. Although I'm not an artist, I would like to take this house beyond the kit level stage by adding touches of whimsy and fantasy. Any advise or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. . . . . . Beloved

Hi Christina, and :yikes: !

In deciding what house to build first, many here will tell you to see what house "speaks" to you. You'll know it when you find it.

As to wiring, there is a tutorial which KathieB posted about elsewhere here:

Good Luck, and we look forward to hearing from you again, soon!

Hello and welcome Christina! :yikes: May I suggest looking through member's galleries to see what houses "pop" out at you? Might be a nifty place to start, and give you some drool factor as well!

The sky is the limit when it comes to dollhouses, and minis. Let your imagination run wild when it comes to building and decorating houses. I suggest you start with a smaller kit, and build onto it. Most houses are easily adaptable to additions,basements, porches etc...As for which house to build, let it pick you. You'll find one and truly fall in love. You'll know the right one, when you see it.

Have fun with your new found hobbie, and welcome to the forum.