Add a front yard or Not?

Ms. Mini

Ok I know I should actually be working here at work (do people really do that? Lol) but I keep thinking about my Willowcrest. Caleb and I have been discussing this a lot since the house is almost complete. He was planning on building me a turn table of some short to display the house nicely. There is only one problem. I want a front yard. Now I’ve never done a front yard before so this is all very new to me. Caleb was saying that if I was to do a front yard I would need a large space for the table to go that isn’t up against a wall that way it could turn 360 degrees… well I hadn’t thought of that before *growls* so now I am going back and forth between two different ideas. I could:

A: have a front yard, and just put the house on a regular table up against the wall. But then you wouldn’t be able to see the inside very much :giggle: also keep in mind we live in an apartment so there isn’t much room.

B: give up my desire for a front yard for the time being and just be happy with the turn table.

If I do allow a front yard. How do you guys normally go about attaching it to the base of the house? What type of material do you use? A sheet of plywood? I didn’t need a HUGE front yard. Just something where I could put a little fountain and some grass and flowers maybe? What do you guys all think?

I put a little front yard on my Orchid by simply putting the house on a piece of Masonite. It is flush with the back of the house (no back yard) and only adds a couple of inches on the sides and 4 or 5 inches on the front.

This picture shows it dressed for winter. There is grass under the snow, which is not glued down. The grass is glued to the board. The board is glued to a lazy susan. The whole thing sits pretty close to the walls (in a corner) and turns freely.

The Willowcrest doesn't look to have a very big footprint. I think you and Caleb can work this out so you're both happy. :giggle: