Hi from Florida

Liggysasha

Hi All, I'm Sasha. I'm new to all things Dollhouse and miniatures! I'm in not-so-sunny SW Florida (yep, we're stuck at home waiting out Tropical Storm Fay!). I'm orginially from England, moved her 6 years ago. So you'll have to excuse my spelling - sometimes I forget to type in 'American'!!!

I'm currently looking to buy my first dollhouse! I have a daughter that is about to turn 1 year old, and rather than buy her a lot of toys (which family and friends will do) I thought it would be nice to buy a dollhouse to build and decorate for her over the next few years. Then give it to her when she is (much) older. Would be a really nice keepsake for her in the future.

My mom did a bit of miniature work when I was a child so I'm a little familiar with it, but never done any myself. Also I'm hoping to rope my mom into helping with this dollhouse - she is an expert lace-maker so hoping to get her to make lace curtains etc.

Welcome to the forum family from another 'Floridian, Sasha, and we have so many members who spell in English (and other sanguages) you should be OK. Which house is "speaking" to you for your daughter? Of course, you DO realise that you'll also have to begin building for yourself, as well...

Yes, it's a bit of a selfish present for her... as I get the fun of making it!!

I'm really torn between different ideas! My mom still has some furniture etc. left from her old dollhouse which was a Georgian period house. I'm not that keen on the Georgian style, I prefer Victorian but I think some of the things will still work.

I like the McKinley - that way I can mount it on the wall in my daughter's room and not worry about her breaking it as she get's older.

I also like The Magnolia and the Westville. I just can't decide!!!!