New kid on the block!

Laurie

I am just getting ready to build my first dollhouse. The Lily, cause I'm getting a great deal on it and I like it a lot. I was thinking of doing the Beacon Hill first but can't afford it just yet. I am an Interior Designer and have built models for my profession but never a house just for my own enjoyment. I wanted to do a period (historic) house because I don't get to do that type of house in my area. I am truly amazed at the variety of furnishings and decorations that are available on line. Also floored by some of the prices! :lol: Well, say hi to me I'll probably be asking a lot of questions once my kit gets here.

Hi Laurie, and :lol: to the community!

We'll look forward to watching your progress. The Lily is a great house for period decor. As you get into it, you'll find you can make many decorative items and furniture, which leaves more dollhouse dollars for the just-can't-do-without pricey items. :wave:

Hi Traci,

I've given it some thought since I read a post here from someone who didn't feel that it felt Victorian. Well, I'm from the south and we like to change things up a bit down here. If you flatten out that porch roof add wrought iron style railings and french doors off that upstairs stair hall she's got French Quarter/Vieux Carre written all over her. Lily is a southern Vicky as I see her.

Welcome to the "little" family here, Laurie, your Lily can be as Southern & Victorian as you could want (just bop on over to Appalachicola or even White Springs!). I have one still in the box that wants to be a Tuscan villa.

I'm about a two-hour drive from you in Havana, NW of Tallahassee, but we do a bit of camping, paddling & riding in Okaloosa & Santa Rosa Counties. Our favorite campground used to be a block & a half from the Gulf in eastern Destin, but the owners retired & sold it to a developer and now it's about 100 houses!

Miniature sources are mighty sparse where we are.

Hi there!