First Timer Starting with the Orchid

Alisha Lars

Hello! As my title says, I'm a first time dollhouse builder -- though I can already tell this won't be the last -- and I've begun with the Orchid. My little Alice Cherry Blossom needs a home!

2176513578_1e61d24d3f_m.jpg

Anyhow, I'm Alisha, I live in Texas, I'm married and have a 4 year old boy, two dogs, and a cat. My flickr account is here and it is full of Blythe dolls, both my own and customs I've made for other people, as well as my other crafty things.

I'm the type that researches and reads EVERYTHING I can get my hands on, so I've been prowling these boards, blogs, and galleries for a few days, and already I've learned so much from everyone, so thank you!

I'm doing the exterior in a Texas Victorian style, so not much bashing, modeled after a house down the street from me, but I'm trying to keep this first one on the simple side (finishing-wise) so that it is a fairly quick build and not discouraging. Most of my pieces are punched, sorted, sanded and primed. I've mixed my paints (aqua for the body of the exterior, white for trim, and red accents), painted about half the pieces, chosen wallpaper (I'm using scrapbook paper), and am nearly finished with the floors. Hopefully I'll be able to start assembling soon -- the weather here has been very cold, so not only does my airbrush like to complain, but my drying times have been tripled.