What's the reason for all the anti-MDF?

cinderspritzer

The only house I have previously built was wood. The houses I'm working on now are wood. I have no experience with MDF, though I've read a lot about it- including a lot of comments that seemed very negative. Is there a reason most people don't seem to like it? Is it a sensory thing or hard to work with or....?

My newbie-ness is readily apparent right now, I suppose?

I have built a roombox kit of MDF and I had no particular issues with it other than it's extremely heavy for its size, BUT I like to bash and the resins holding MDF together will gum up saw blades, the sawdust is at least as toxic as treated plywood (but I can recycle the wood sawdust into wood putty) and apparently there's a trick to getting a smooth paint finish. I have a strong personal preference for wood, although I do NOT like the plywood with some plastic/ fiberglas in the layers.

• Like 2

Most of the differences are simply personal preferences that folks have. There isn't any right or wrong with either product.

I have both and my preferences are the lighter weight plywood.

The MDF is very, very heavy and just too heavy for me to move around on my own to work on. I have the Alexandria and it's huge and bear in mind that I'm old and have arthritis. I also have some breathing issues and the dust from cutting the MDF bothers me more than regular sawdust does, although that isn't without it's problems.

I do like the smoothness of the MDF though because the wood requires spackle and sanding to achieve a similar smooth surface so that's a trade off the other way.

Some of the fancier gingerbread trims are harder to achieve in MDF and with the laser cut companies doing more of that, it seems that it is all done in wood.

It comes down to what you like for yourself.

• Like 1