Quetion about collecting

Hallowell

As I get older and my eyes aren't what they were and less time to work on minis, I've tended to lean more towards collecting than building miniatures. I was an avid builder all of my life but now collecting has found a place in my heart. I love to collect original pieces from local artists and I also love much of what was produced in the 70's and 80's such as Leonetta, Sonia Messer and many others. I'm also doing more by way of roomboxes to display these collections. But an occasional remodel or build still warms my sole.

I'm wondering how many of you consider yourselves more collectors than builders. And what in dollhouse minis do you enjoy collecting the most?

Gee, it's hard to say! I still am really into building the houses and experimenting with different techniques. And I'm really enjoying making things for this new one, since there is not much available in contemporary furnishings.

I love things that are unique. I'm already tired of seeing the same furniture in every house, and have just about quit going to retail sites. Like you, I like the handmade and unique things, even though I can't afford most of them.

But i do have a collection of old 30's and 40's pieces that I love because they remind me of my mom's stuff that I played with as a child. The German and Japanese stuff in particular. The little bisque dolls and animals, and the American style furniture with the painted Japanese designs really tickle me. One day, maybe I can make a house for them but right now they are all on a wall shelf where the cat can't get to them!

Since I was a child I have always enjoyed collecting tiny objects of all sorts from miniature cars, trains, dolls, bears and other animals dishes, pictures, what have you. I never have the money for anything truely considered "collectible" but enjoy finding things that please me. I just started building so its still fresh and fun in that respect.