Building a Tree ...

FreeDragon

Now that Spring Fling '09 is done, I'm off to the next project.

Been rolling around in my head the idea to build a half-scale as a fairy home INTO a tree: that is, I want the tree to be 'formed around' the house, a separate piece that the house 'fits' into. I have no experience with clay, paperclay, paper mache, etc. Wondered if anyone out there had some suggestions and/or could show me some tutorials. I've considered using the clay that doesn't dry until you bake it, but that seems as though it would be very heavy since I expect the 'tree' will be 2-1/2' to 3' tall. Considered building a wooden frame and using paper mache or the equivalent. Considered foam. I don't know ... I'm full of ideas and really need to seek the wisdom here ...

Thanks to any and all who respond! Even tidbits and snippets would be greatly appreciated!

I would suggest starting with the basic shape using a few pieces of wood for stability, then make a wire frame over this, then use air-drying clay such as paperclay on top. With the wire frame (possibly filled with paper?), it will give the clay something to hold onto and will make the entire thing lighter than using solid clay. Just an idea to think about.

wow funny coincedence!!!! Debra (our wallpaper Queen) and I were just starting to plan exactly the same thing!!! :groucho:

we were thinking maybe papier mache formed around a stocking made huge and fat with newspaper....still in the planning but great minds think alike :D

How great is that?

Liza's idea is fab ... I'm really leaning toward the idea of a "pinata-style" tree ... whatta 'ya think? Hollow(ish) core with wood and wire frame. It would give the tree strength and structure without adding too much weight and I can attach paper mache or paper clay (whatever that is) to the exterior. Hmmm ... any more thoughts?

Polymere clay is not the thing for this house. You can't bake the house in the oven.