Hello everybody

Ayla

Hello. I'm new to the whole forum and blog thingie. I don't even know if i'm doing this right. Also new to building a doll house. I just got the Orchid for my first (hopefully first of many). I really have no idea what i'm doing. :) I've looked around and feel totally intimidated but i'm gonna try. I love what so many have done with theirs. This is going to be a project for myself and my son (he's 8 but totally loving the whole mini thing). He's been begging me for ages for something like this. So any tips and suggestions would be wonderful. I'm gonna try and upload as many pics as i can of my progress. Anywho that's all for now. Hope to get to know ya'll. bye.

:) Welcome! I am in a very similar sitiuation, I joined last night. Never bloged/forumed before, got great tips! I mde my first doll house in Aug 2007, and am currently working on my 4th. Very addictive hobby. I am waiting on some wall paper for my best friends orchid, then it is done. It was a great joy building, you should enjoy. I am hoping to down load pic of it later today in my album, so check it out.

<Peggi, look! Shannon has the Beaumont in her avatar!>

Welcome to our "little" family, Shannon, and thank you for coming out of lurkdom with your 8-year-old (you need to get him started putting together furniture kits for your houses).

You don't have to know what you're doing, you begin a hobby to learn how to do things. Feeling intimidated is a normal reaction to opening the kit and seeing all those sheets with all those little pieces and realizing they might end up looking like the picture on the box (it's OK if they don't, too; we call that "bashing"). There are no rules that you have to follow (although the kit instructions are often a help) and prior experience isn't necessary. All of us began with our first build. The best thing you can do is learn from your son the feeling that you can do this, because you can.