Stitcher

I am also retired and semi-new to dollhouses. I helped my husband some 30 years ago when he was building a dollhouse for our daughter. Now I want to try it on my own. I bought an Orchid kit and am a bit anxious about starting it. I will probably ask a lot of questions. Janet :) P.S. I'm sorry, Barbara, I inserted this in the wrong place (in your replies). I have never done this before. :thumb:

Hello and welcome Janet. Feel free to ask any questions. Please browse the gallery and the blogs. There is 2 blogs on this particular house that may help you get over any anxiety. Although every time I open a box that anxiety has to be quieten down. Usually by petting the wood.

I welcomed you with Barbara because I read her thread before getting to yours. I enjoyed building the Orchid. I get the nervous wobblies every time I open a kit box, even one I've built before. I follow a basic routine that calms me down enough to begin without anxiety attacks.

As you read the different posts about building the houses and what we do that is diffeerent from the instructions, and read the blogs and the descriptions of the album pictures in the Gallery, you will see that there are many different ways to approach building. The very most important part is to remember that this is FUN, you are building a TOY, whether it's for your grandchild or for the little inner child that lives inside of you, patiently waiting its turn to come out and play with it. You are going to cut & paste & color, you are going to cut & sand & fill and you are going to stain and leal and prime and paint. You are going to floor and side and shingle. You are going to furnish & quite possibly move in a little family. You are going to have FUN.