Orchid Day #1

silvrsky

After waiting over a week it finally arrived! I work as a teacher so I didn't get to start working on it till 4 pm. I tried to get as much as I could done so i worked pretty hard for the next three hours. I started out by labeling everything in pencil. I know the instructions say to pop things out as you go but one of the things it wanted me to start with was the windows. I am not ready for that since I don't have any paint yet, so I popped those out and bagged them. I decided to bag all of sheets # 1-5 in baggies so i wouldnt lose anything. Hopefully I dont regret that later. I really want to get the sanding done before it gets too hot outside so I think I may focus on that tomorrow. Next, I sanded the first, second, front and two main side boards with three different grits. Then I dry fit it and glued it together. I used my level on my Iphone to make sure it was straight. I used tape to clamp all the sides. So far the only casualty seems to be my hobby knief as the tip is gone. Lol. I have a lot of sanding to get done and I need to do some more reading to find out what I should work on tomorrow. Very excited and I can't wait for tomorrow evening to get going on it again. The pictures I took are to big so perhaps I can figure out how to resize the images tomorrow. Is their anyone else just starting out on the Orchid right now? Would love to here from some others. Night! Meagan

• Like 1

Finished my Orchid awhile back... although I don't think I will ever really be FINISHED with it! Tons of sanding and painting, but it's all worth it once it starts going together. My Orchid was a practice house, but I fell in love with it. And I learned a lot from this forum, too.

I'd love to see your pictures - I believe once you have 5 posts, you can create your own album in a gallery. Have fun, and happy building!