Extremely New

XansGirl

I've never built a dollhouse before but I owned one as a child.

I was going to make one out of plastic canvas after christmas but then my brother bought me the Buttercup house.

I absolutely love it and I'm very excited to get started on it

I am just not sure where to start. I want to paint it and I have the tools to paint it but i'd also like to do some wall papering or flooring but i'm not sure how to prepare the wood to paint. Any hints tips or instructions anyone can provide me with?

Thank you in advance.

First thing like the instructions say...DON'T PANIC!!!! That is the best advice.

Second, even though the instructions say to use a hot glue gun...DON'T. Get a good wood glue like Elmer's or Aleen's Tacky glue I've heard is good too.

Third, I only started in July myself so don't really have a lot of experience but read through the forum and check out the gazette blog...they just started that this month and it has a great getting started article. Go to the top of the page and do a search for Gazette Blog and it will come up.

Four, post five times and you can upload pictures to your album and show us your progress...checking out other's albums and blogs is a great way for inspiration as well.

Lastly, welcome to the forum it is a great community of friendly and generous people.

Take a deep breath and pop over to the Newcomer's forum to introduce yourself, a lot of members are more used to meeting & welcoming new members there. I will also welcome you to the little family here, Elenae (that's a pretty name) and I think you'll have a lot of fun with the Buttercup. I built four or so of them early on.

not sure where to start. I want to paint it and I have the tools to paint it but i'd also like to do some wall papering or flooring but i'm not sure how to prepare the wood to paint.