New to miniatures and nervous

Kaelus

Hi everyone. I've been visiting this forum for about a month and decided to join since all of the advice I've read so far is great. Anyways I have always wanted a dollhouse and what a great way to spend my spare time by building one. I'm a graduate student and since I am not taking summer classes decided to find a project for the summer and beyond. I ordered the Fairfield and will be starting on it as soon as school is done for the semester.

I am nervous about this project to say the least especially since the last project I had involving wood is still a pile of boards and that was nine years ago.

Hello and welcome! Don't be nervous. Just step right up and open that box! Dollhouses, contrary to popular thought, DO NOT BITE. Tools bite.....and it's OK. You can bite them back!

Anyway welcome! And don't be nervous. Making a dollhouse is a slow and relaxing period in your life. Enjoy it!

Wolfie

Thank you. I have a feeling this project will provide a nice distraction to the boredom of summer. Actually it's already been a distraction from classwork.

hello, kaelus,

i think you've made a fun decision to enliven the summer.

a friend refers to post-grad studies as "gradual school" and sometimes that's a fair description. :noway:

so, what are you studying? and

welcome!

:)

Thanks all.

I am studying archaeology. I am hoping to do my thesis on the Northeastern Great Plains specifically a gendered approach to the mortuary data from the Arvilla Mound Complex. I am waiting to hear from my professor whether my preliminary paper can be adapted to a thesis topic. Hopefully it can or I'm back to the drawing board. Gradual is right.