Hi Everyone - Newbie from the Texas Hill Country

tamberly

Hi all!

I'm Tamberly, located just north of Austin, Texas. I'm extremely new to Dollhouse building, having just closed on my first (doll) house about 5 minutes ago.

Funding went through without a problem and I should take possession in about one week. However, this house was purchased as a gift for my 12 year old daughter, Meg.

I do feel that I'll be doing quite a bit of the building, with her being the main interior decorator.

I chose The Pierce. Nothing like shooting high for the 1st purchase. I really wanted the Garfield, but moreso for me to actually live in - not for the dolls. :-)

Can the more experienced builders recommend any good books or guides for beginning builders? (other than this forum!)

Thanks so much...look forward to more postings from me!

Tamberly

Hi and welcome, Tamberly! My mother and I built the Pierce when I was in middle school. Ok, she was really the buidler and I was the assistant when she let me do things. Have fun with it!!

:bounce8:

Carrie

Hi, Tamberly, and welcome to the community! You're in good company with the Pierce. Several members have built or are building the Pierce. You'll find a lot of pictures here! And more of us bought the kits recently, so I'm sure there will be on-going discussions as we work our way through the process.

You may not need a guide other than the directions that come with the kit and the advice given so freely here. Ask away, and you'll get a selection of answers. One thing very obvious about mini-building is that there are a whole lot more than one way to skin the cat. Sometimes the best advice is the DON'T DO THIS part ... it's definitely spoken from experience! :bounce8: Beyond that, follow your gut instincts, and have fun with it!

Welcome to the forum!

I know there are ALOT of books out there but I havent read any of them.