Refinishing my first dollhouse

Joyologist

Hello everyone! I am a newbie and this is my first post here ever! I am writing to tell you why I have joined you all. When I was a young girl of about 7, my uncle made me a colonial style dollhouse that I treasured and played with for YEARS! When we moved away from my childhood home, it got given around to various relatives over the years. A few years back, I was able to get the dollhouse from an Aunt who was going to sell or trash it as the dollhouse has been well-loved!

My own daughter is now 16 and very interested in helping me fix it up. I am very happy to undertake this project but I am also a bit overwhelmed not knowing where to start or where to get supplies. My daughter helped me figure out today that this dollhouse of mine and all it's furniture is at least 30 years old! How great would it be to restore it and play with it again. Yes, you read hat right. I am a 39 year old woman interested in playing with my childhood dollhouse once again!

I am hoping you all will help me as I try to navigate my way through this restoration. Perhaps someone can give me a brief pointer on how to post my "before" pictures so you all can see my lovely yellow colonial that is in desperate need of some TLC! Also on my TO DO list is finding out where I can get some replacement parts. What I am in need of so far is plastic window "glass" with white "panes" printed on it, black plastic shutters and black asphalt roof shingles. I know this is not the most glamourous way to restore this house, but I am trying to restore it to how I remember it being. I still have all my dolls and furniture, too and they are a family of modest means so that will not be bothered at all by my use of less fancy finshings. LOL

If you know where I can find any of the items on my shopping list, please do let me know as my daughter and I are eager to make progress on our first dollhouse project!

Big Love to all,

Rachell in SW FL