Beacon Hill dollhouse

Sanborne

I have just started building the Beacon Hill dollhouse.  I have never built a dollhouse before.  I am doing the second sub-assembly.  I am dry fitting pieces.  I am trying to get tabs into slots- not easy  My question is, in addition to gluing tabs into slots- should I run glue along wall that meets other wall to slots? I hope that makes sense. Thank you.

Debra, one of the purposes of the dry fit is to sand or shave the tabs & slots for a more perfect fit, and you want to use a good carpenter's wood glue  like Titebond or Probond in a thin bead along the surfaces that will touch each other, not just on the tabs & slots.  Put enough of the house into dry fit to see if you have any places you won't be able to paint/ decorate once the house is glued together.  I have a heavy duty stapler and after I've glued the walls together I pop some steel staples along the edges where the walls abut, since I tend to manhandle my houses and I decorate as I go.

Edited by havanaholly

Thank you so much.  I am using Aleene's tacky glue. I hope that is ok.  Maybe I should buy one of the glues you suggested.  The stapler sounds like a good idea too.  The other problem I am worried about is trying to lift everything up to glue it. I had such a hard time interlocking the long slide in the second floor at the stair opening with the long slot in the right petition wall.  After a number of tries it finally worked.  thank you again for the reply I am new to the blog.  I was not even sure how to use it..

Welcome Debra,

Sometimes it feels more like wrestling than building...especially when you have to slide pieces. Shh, but I have been known to lop of offending tabs rather than risk splintering a piece. As long as the walls and corners are plumb and true, it can make a difficult piece easier to deal with.  You can use a builders triangle in the gluing stage to make sure. I even clamp or tape the square in place until dry.

Edited by Mid-life madness