Hello from Michigan!!!!

sweetstina

Hello fellow miniaturists! I am new to the miniature world and I am very excited to jump right in. :) I just turned 24 yrs old and my parents bought me my first miniature dollhouse after almost 10 years of wanting one! I am ready to jump right in to this project! :( I do have one question....I have one warped piece of wood in my kit. Does anyone have any suggestions on making it flat again???? Thanks for the help!!

Christina

Hello and welcome to the forum. You might try to dampen the wood (not soggy wet), then weight it down with heavy books to straighten it out.

This was my suggestion also. Don't try to do this quickly it will need to sit with the weight on it for awhile. I did not think this would work when my husband sugested it to me but it really does.

Did you say which house you have? I may have just forgot. Anyway we LOVE pictures on here so please keep them posted. You can take pics of every step of the building process from opening the box to the final decoration inside we love em all! Look forward to seeing them.

Welcome to the little family, Christina. In the event that the dampening/ weight doesn't work the first time, you can repeat the process. Make sure that your surface is perfectly FLAT. as well as the item you weigh it down with. Old nursing textbooks work for me. It also makes some difference what part of the kit is warped, oftentimes once it's assembled in place the worp works itself out.

Which kit is it?

Hi Christina, welcome to the group! :rudolph: I hope the warp gets dealt with. Be patient, and leave it weighted down for at least a few days, to be sure.

Congratulations on finally getting a dollhouse! Which one did you get?