just bought a harrison

lili

Just bought a harrison. I think I might have gotten in over my head.Please help me with any advise you might have. I would appeciatte it more than you know. what is the best way to get started. How long does it usually take? How patient should i be? I suffer from wanting instant gratification.

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi Lili...

I'm a newbie and am waiting to get my Harrison as well...(I get mine this Friday)

Unfortunately I don't have any advice for you, just wanted to let you know you're not alone!

Hi Liliana and Tiffanie, the Harrison was my second build and it's a great house. The rooms are very large. There are pictures in my Gallery if that helps either of you. I did make some changes by leaving out the hallway in the center and making it all part of the livingroom and bedroom upstairs. It's quite an easy build, but be patient, it isn't any fun if you rush through it. Enjoy the process and you'll find it won't be your last one.

Helloo ladies.

things to do before getting your house

make a work area...one that doesnt have to be cleaned up every day or often at all.

it says on the estimated build time it will take 15 hours to build....please note this time does NOT include staining,painting, wallpaper or Electrical.

so when it will be finished is really up to the person building the house.

gather your supplies

x-acto knife with xtra blades

sandpaper

glue....NOT hot glue! a good wood glue or Aileens tacky glue....for every person who builds it is different

stain and paint

a good primer...some use regular house paint to prime....I like to use Kilz spray primer and I usually prime after the dry fit and before the gluing

Masking tape----this is your friend! buy a BIG roll.

pencil and storage baggies....I put my punched out peices in baggies...windows in one,doors in one,,,stairs....ect you get the idea.