just ordered the Peirce

Just One More

I just ordered the Pierce. I've been wanting it for a long time but thought it would be harder to do than any of the others I've done. I have done the Arthur, three Jeffersons, a Fairfield, Lily, and Harrison, as well as several MDF houses, Victoria's farm house and a few others. The problem is the shingles. I hate to do shingles. I am not good at cutting the angles. I know how to do it. A man at the mini show in Chicago showed me how to do the angles, but they never look really good. I usually never get around to it and just sand really well, paint and antique the roof. On the Pierce can you wait until absolute last to shingle and still have it come out right? The only shingling I have done that looks right is on the Jefferson, because there are no angles. There are so many on the Pierce I know I would really dread it. The house otherwise doesn't look too difficult. Even the stairs don't scare me but shingles make me almost want me to give up building. Any ideas?

The Towers have angles but you could always do it the way I did my tower on the Mckinley It looks like a aged copper roof. I added a chess piece to the roof and painted the tower a sea foam green I also found it in a local wal-mart store under the name victorian green. As you can see from the picture, it is an ugly green but it suits our purpose because this is a lesson in faux painting. This will become a copper roof tower. Hubby don't like the chess piece. but I kept it. The round thingys on each edge is actually round wood (You could use a scewer too) that I cut to fit each edge.

1088084097037881673S200x200Q85.jpg

Then I bought some Metalic Copper paint. Now the copper color has been brushed on. I used a technique. I loaded the brush with the copper paint and brused most of it off on a piece of cardboard. I then applied the remainder of it to my roof top. It takes a little practice but even if you mess up a little, no one will notice.