Do I need to paint the pieces first?

alisaveta

Hi Everyone,

I am new to dollhousing. My best friend got me the Harrison for my birthday and I'm very excited.

Should I paint the pieces before I assemble them? Should I do the 50/50 shellac/wood alcohol before I assemble the house? How long will it take me to assemble the house? (8 hours, 60 days? I have no idea what to expect.)

Thank you for your help, Alisa

Hi and welcome to the forum!

I just purchased the Harrison myself, it's a pretty house.

I personally don't use any of the prep stuff such as primer, shellac etc...so i can't help you on that! I'm sure someone can help you tho!

Hi, Alisa -

I'm also new to dollhousing, and so far I love it!

Based on my research, I think you should seal first - before you even punch any of the pieces out of the sheets. Seal the entire sheet, all of them. Then punch them out and sand them. This seems to be a huge time saver.

Painting first seems to be optional - I think it's certainly easier to paint prior to assembly, but if you're installing electric, then it might not be the best idea. Plus you may change your mind after it's all put together and choose different colors. Personally, I'm probably not going to paint my pieces first. I've seen plenty of dollhouse construction pictures online where the assembled dollhouse is completely unpainted.

Not sure about your particular dollhouse, but I'm planning on not finishing assembly of my dollhouse for probably 2 months - and I'll be working on it only a few hours a week (job, baby, etc.).

Hope that helps!

Welcome Alisa to the forum. I've never done the Harrison but it is on my want list. It took me 9 months to complete my first house the Lily. We have some builders who can build a house in a matter of days and then there are some like me who takes months and I believe some have worked on them for years. It really has to do with how much time you have to devote to it.