Polymer Clay

caitejay

I'm getting very ambitious - I'm considering making some items for my dollhouse out of polymer clay. Of course, I've never done this before (and I'm just starting my first dollhouse ever, the Beacon Hill), and am wondering if anyone can relate their experiences with doing this, or if anyone can provide links / pictures of their own creations.

Although I'm confident I'm going to dominate the Beacon Hill, I'm not so sure I'm going to be successful with this clay idea.

Caite ... I took a polymer clay workshop in which we made food for a roast beef dinner. Look in my blog. There are some general hints for working with polymer, even if you aren't going to do food.

Caite, In my "dollhouse" album in the Members; Gallery I showed the bathroom fixtures I made from poly clay, including the pipes & taps; also in my Team Orchid blog. I have made Belfast sinks from poyclay (described in my "finishing the pub" album in the gallery. I made the veggies in the Coventry Cottage garden (see that Team blog) from poly clay. And, of course, I use it to sculpt my dolls (I have a Gallery album marked "dolls").

http://sculpey.com/Projects/PDF/Dollmaking.pdf

I found this the other day while I was surfing the web!

I have most of the molds so maybe I need to drag out the clay and see what I can come up with!

I really like charactor dolls...the stuff found in shops are so generic!

pretty...but not for me.

nutti :D

Give it a whirl, Nutti, you already know how to manipulate the faces from the molds to make them more unique and once you start "playing" with the faces in that size you can begin to experiment sculpting some of your own features.

Among my sculpting tools are a large tapestry needle, a glass-headed pin, a small steel crochet hook, a set of craft knives & some cake-decorating tools.