Does Anyone NOT Light their Houses?

Rowan555

I'm new to this, still waiting on my kit to arrive - but it seems most people here do lighting in their dollhouses. I know I could figure it out if I wanted to, but I frankly have NO desire to do it. I'm wondering if this is something I'll regret down the road, or if maybe it's just a matter of personal preference. I understand the aesthetic advantages, and I know lighted dollhouses are lovely - but are some of you satisfied with plain old non-electrified houses?

I never used to light my houses because I did not know how too. When I found out how to in Spring of 2005, from that point on, my houses have been lighted and I can't imagine not having them lighted now. I sometimes even tell myself I am not gonna light a certain house and the next thing I know it the box in my closet is calling my name cause it's the perfect light for that room :)

I also used to hang ceiling lighted and have lamps that looked real but were not lighted. It gave the room more realism even though it was not an electrified house.

:)

I hope this helps

I really prefer lighting in my dollhouses. But, I also like the natural daylight coming through my dining room window as well. But I only get the lighting effect from this window in the late afternoon and early evening. The rest of the time it doesn't give me the aesthetics that I desire. I'm a huge fan of electrification.

I have seen some lovely dollhouses where lighting wasn't installed and they were still very lovely.

As far as regrets go, one thing I've learned from others on this site is that anything and everything that you do to your dollhouse can be changed. There are no fatal errors or mistakes. There are just major or minor renovations to be made.

Which dollhouse are you going to be building? Do you have any photos?

-Susanne