Dollhouse Building Newbie! HELP!

Samantha

Hi everyone! 

I just bought my very first dollhouse kit..I've never done anything like this before. I've been watching some YouTube videos which have been helpful but I have a question about something I haven't yet figured out...

When do you decorate the interior pieces - like the stairs, the fireplace..should you or do you complete those things in their entirety before gluing them into the house? I'm working on the fireplace now (Fairfield) and I'm not sure if I should out the stones and such on it now or once I've installed. 

Help!! 

Samantha, sometimes things won't fit together properly if they're decorated first, like the Fairfield fireplaces, since the floor openings fit fairly snugly over the bare wood framing.  I hope, btw, that you're dry fitting as you go.  I built two of the Fairfield at the same time (one of them inside out) and I lost count of how many times I had to do the dry fit!  I wound up decorating the first floor after I had glued the exterior walls, then installed the second floor, etc.  I think I did stain the staircase before I finished installing it.

Hi Samantha,

Have you done a dry fit of the whole house yet?

I imagine it would be easier to decorate the fireplace before it is installed. As long as you are careful you can do it. Just make sure the stones don't protrude or impede a flush fit etc.

I would decorated the staircase before....http://gleise-crafts.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-fairfield-dollhouse-day-41-and-42.html

It looks tough to paint and wallpaper that area.

***Remember, it is your house.  You don't have to do something the exact way other people have. The main thing is to do the dry fit so you can see where you can avoid problems with difficult hard to reach areas.***