Any quilters here? I need some help

fov

I just finished a stamped cross stitch baby blanket for my friend whose baby was born in December. I haven't taken a photo of it yet, but it's this one: https://www.amazon.com/Bucilla-Stamped-43-Inch-45359-Engelbreit/dp/B001VE1AI0

This is my first time doing stamped cross stitch (I've done a lot of counted cross stitch) and I'm nervous about finishing it. It came as two pieces of fabric that are already quilted together, but because my stitching carried through to the back I need to add something to the back of it. I've never done this before and I'm not confident in my sewing skills.

My plan is to sew on coordinated fabric that has the same nursery rhyme characters on it: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mary-Engelbreit-Fabric-Mother-Goose-Nursery-Rhyme-Jack-Jill-Mice-Cow-Moon-BTHY/254746792409

I'll remove the binding (bias?) around the edge of the quilt first, and will wash both the quilt and the fabric before sewing in case of shrinkage. I'm going to finish "pillowcase style" as shown in this tutorial:

So here are my questions: the tutorial says to pin batting to the backing fabric before sewing the backing fabric to the quilt. I don't know what I'm looking for when it comes to batting. Is this what I need? https://www.joann.com/poly-fil-extra-loft-crib-size-quilt-batting/15954076.html

Do I need to wash the batting before I use it?

After I've sewn the batting and backing to the quilt, will I need to anything more to attach the back and the front pieces, since I'm not going to be quilting them together? At the end of the tutorial she says "you could tie the quilt" -- I have an idea of what this means, but don't know how to do it without interfering with the design.

Is there anything else I need to know before I try this, that I might not know I need to know?

I realize these are super specific questions but I hope someone here will know what I'm talking about and can talk me off the ledge! Thanks!