Grout as stucco?

hollyclyff

Has anyone tried using tile grout as stucco on a dollhouse? I ask because I have plenty of both sanded and nonsanded grout already. Anything else I've read about using, I would have to buy. I've never done stucco before. My other houses have clapboard, but I want to do something different with the Buttercup I'm working on now.

I haven't tried it though it sounds like a great idea - Do you have any scrap pieces of wood that you could do a test on? That's my only thought here sorry :) When I used the store bought "stucco" I had to use a paint sponge to get teh right texture even though it was already supposed to e stucco texture - I laid it flat after I applied the stucco and then lifted it off gently and it did give it a decent texture... I'm wondering if that would help with the grout , again I don't know but I do hope you try it out and let use know :D

-David

I have not used it but a friend of mine said it made her house to heavy. I don't know though because I personally have never used it.

What about some of the texture sprays they have out there? Also, what about using joint compound? I think Marg used that on her cantebury.

I have not used it but a friend of mine said it made her house to heavy. I don't know though because I personally have never used it.

What about some of the texture sprays they have out there? Also, what about using joint compound? I think Marg used that on her cantebury.

Y'know, maybe I'm totally off base, but isn't tile grout like cement? If it is, it certainly would add some considerable weight to a house :D .