Newbie-RGT Milled Plywood Dollhouse

pumkinpie

Hello Everyone,

I am a newbie and about to build my first dollhouse, just ordered the kit. It's an RGT Milled Plywood Dollhouse.

I already have a few questions about the type of building supplies that might be best, etc. I want to use water based flat latex paint for painting the interior and exterior of the house. What type of brushes are best for this? Are foam brushes any good for painting and staining? When I stain the floors I want to use waterbased minwax stain.Still mulling on the color maybe mahogany, walnut or maple? What kind of tools are good for scoring the floorboards?

Before assembling the house I was thinking of painting the exterior walls and also painting the ceilings and staining the floorboards. Is this going to make the job easier? I am kind of apprehensive but I would like to tapewire the dollhouse also. Is it best to prime the walls before running tapewire inside or is it okay to stick the tapewire on bare walls?

Also I was wondering is it cheaper to buy supplies e.g. glue, brushes, tools and paint from hardware store (e.g. Home Depot) rather than order online from a dollhouse miniatures store?

I already have a few questions about the type of building supplies that might be best, etc. I want to use water based flat latex paint for painting the interior and exterior of the house. What type of brushes are best for this? Are foam brushes any good for painting and staining? When I stain the floors I want to use waterbased minwax stain.Still mulling on the color maybe mahogany, walnut or maple? What kind of tools are good for scoring the floorboards?
I use regular ol' 1" paintbrushes and don't load them with too much paint, a little goes a LONG way. I find cheap foam brushes tend to start shedding foam crumbs after a few strokes. I prefer to use a rag for applying stain, either water-based or oil-based; I prefer the gel stains, and whatever color I think will look best with the overall decor.