My Newburg

Deanna

Good afternoon from 100 degree Georgia!

Hope everyone is staying cool!

I have a question about a product. I have a Newburg kit waiting on me. At looking at the pictures, I see the foundation in front of the house has a stucco look to it. Can anybody tell me how I can get this look on mine? I have never done that before. I have a Hobby Lobby close to me so if somebody knows of a product name that I could pick up there?

I have been brainstorming about my new house. It will be a week or 2 before I start on it because I am trying to finish up my Magnolia first. I am thinking my Newburg is going to be a Christmas house. It sort of reminds me of the houses on the street of the movie 'It's A Wonderful Life'.

Thanks for any info ya'll can give me!

Deanna Cronan

Covington, Georgia

For a stucco look I use dry wall compound from the hardware store. I brush it on and either texture by stippling with the brush or swirling with a brush. I use the cheap small hard bristle brushes. Darrell calls them acid brushes they are cheep with a metal handle and come several in a pack.

Melissa

We did our Newburg alittle different. We used Latex brink on the foundation and steps and sand in the paint for the body. We also left off most of the trim that came with the kit. Just didn't care for the squares, ect. We did alot of bashing on this house. My DH built walls in one of the second floor rooms to cover up some of the odd boxes ect coming into the room walls that are formed by the roof angles. It created a narrow space (about 5 inches wide)going up to the window but I plan to put a desk under the window. It made the room a bit smaller but still room to put a double bed and chest of drawers in. I am thinking of putting shutters with trim to make the new walls look like closets. I just didn't like the boxes on the top and bottom of the walls. Still alot of work to do on this house, but it is getting there.

• 3 weeks later...