Beacon Hill Mansion

bmatson

I am new to the dollhouse scene. My husband surprised me last week with a dollhouse for my birthday. And every spare moment since then I have found myself in my basement working on it. I love it. Since this is my first project, I, of course, am just beginning and have some questions.

1). I have read over some discussions on this forum and have found that many of you out there do not use a hot glue gun. I have been using it so far and it has worked just fine for me. Is there something better?

2). I have also read that 'you can never have too many clamps'. What will I need the clamps for?

3). Also, when I get to the point of putting the shingles on (which will be quite awhile away, since I just started), should I paint them? Or just stain them? I dont' know what will look better.

4). Since I am going to be lighting my house, I read that I should build the house, light it, and then do all the wallpapering and carpeting after that so I can hide all the wiring. Is this true?

I think that is all of my questions for now, although I am sure I will have more as I go along. :roflmao:

Hi Betty, Congratulations on getting a beautiful house for your birthday.

You will be offered alot of advice about building as we each have our own way of doing things so you just have to find the one that works best for you.

1. We are all in agreement that a hot glue gun is a no-no. I've never used it to build a house but I know that everyone says it will not hold over time. I do use it to hold shingles on as do some others on here. Use a wood glue if you can.

2. Clamps are great, but you can also use many other items such as masking tape to hold pieces together, or clothes pegs for small things. Masking tape will become very important, you'll find.