What's the difference?

cyndi3k

Okay, I know I'm new at this, so I need some help. I've heard some of you talking about paper clay and I think about Das. What is the difference? Can you use Das instead of Creative Paper Clay? The reason I ask is that while I was at Michaels today looking for paper clay, this is what I found. Creative Paper Clay--8 oz. package--$5.49. Das Clay--2.2 pound package--$6.49. A big difference. :wave: So, what's the deal? Please help:unsure:

I'll let someone else explain the differences, and there are differences, but most people here from what I've gathered prefer to use the paperclay.

I, on the other hand, am in the lonely minority and prefer the DAS. The smell doesn't bother me, I like the texture, it rolls out nice in the pasta roller, and is much cheaper. I did a whole house in DAS clay using it for bricks.

I really don't know the differences, but in previous postings the best I could tell was the spell. I used DAS for a recent swap and the smell wasn't that bad to me. I bought it because it was cheaper and sometime this week will be experimenting with it to try and make fake tree bark. (To lazy to go out and get some from the woods and not real thrilled with the idea of making sure the bugs die) :wave:

There was nothing in english on the package, so I couldn't tell if it was air dry clay or not. Is it? The lady at Michaels had no idea what I was talking about. :wave: Does it smell anything like Play Dough? I can't be around anything that smells like Play Dough. Thanks!!!

Cindi, I did a search and the only thing I could find was that DAS is modeling clay and paperclay is a paper base clay. Also in the search it directed me to some other discussion groups and some think the DAS doesn't shrink as much and keeps longer whereas others say they still prefer the paperclay. Basically I found that they do the same thing.

Maybe before long, someone with much more experience will weigh in.