combating perfectionism and impatience, plus general tips (15-year old beginner)

paracosmist

does anyone know how to combat impatience when it comes to making miniatures? I realize that this is a very meticulous hobby (which I have been doing for a month or so now), but everything just feels so slow. And, perfectionism isn't helping me out here: every miniature I've seen looks so detailed and cool, while I got some very wonky furniture (probably because I don't have enough patience for the math part... augh!). I realize I'm a beginner but it still bothers me a little bit. I have a picture of my currently unfinished project (a two-wall room box) alongside my reference picture(s) that I'm doing for school (I'm fifteen). What do you guys think? My teacher said I had to contact some mentors, but I lack any mentors in my personal life, so I came here. :)

image/jpeg

b0be7011cefd53e77988b69226fce3de.jpg 

4451afa242ce07517aa3cc067a4d6b26.jpg 

Edited by paracosmist
had to fix one of my pictures to be visible :)
  • Like 2

Welcome! I hear ya! I don't have an solution either unfortunately. I waffle between impatience and procrastination. I was about your age maybe a year or 2 younger when I got my first dollhouse. I turned 60 this year and some of my handiwork still looks wonky.  The link for your room box pic didn't work for me, probably my phone. I'm sure someone will be along shortly that can view it and comment. 

• Like 2

I've updated the post to include a picture of my currently unfinished project! It should be viewable now. It's good to know that even people with decades more experience than me still struggle with impatience and procrastination as well as wonkiness. Guess it should just be part of the process, haha! :) Thank you for the warm welcome, too! 

• Like 1