Wood Sealing

supernat

Hi everyone! Getting started on my first kit and when I opened it (it's from 1992) I found the wood to be incredibly dry, almost like wafer cookies. Before popping out the pieces and getting everything together, what is the best way to strengthen/preserve this wood so I can get something lovely to come together? I've been recommended to use polyurethane but I've never used it before, and I don't know if I can paint acrylic or use joint compound over it.

Help is appreciated! many thanks!

• Like 2

Im of no help to you but I dont think polyurethane is the answer since you likely wouldn't be able to paint over it.  Im sure someone will chime in shortly to help ....my only thought wood be a conditioner of some sort.  Many of us run into this problem because of old kits.

1 hour ago, Qubanqtee said:

Im of no help to you but I dont think polyurethane is the answer since you likely wouldn't be able to paint over it.  Im sure someone will chime in shortly to help ....my only thought wood be a conditioner of some sort.  Many of us run into this problem because of old kits.

That's still good to know! I was googling about polyurethane and how I would need to prime it and it seemed like a lot. I just want the wood to be sealed to avoid warping and protect this wood. It's like I'm going to break a cookie!

• Like 1

Are you planning on staining any of the wood? If so, paint or poly will prevent the stain from soaking in.....

When I remove a piece and it is crumbly (I have found this to be mainly the small trim pieces) I use some tacky glue on the edges. I smear it on with my fingers so I can fill in the wafers :bigwink:, then clamp it with a clothes pin to dry.

The wood is laminated meaning that thin pieces of wood are glued on top of each other to the desired thickness......The glue is drying out between the pieces and that is why is is crumbling.