Wood Flooring Question

LadyGunn

I started laying (ironing) flooring on the lower floor of the Orchid tonight. Is it stupid to leave a break in the flooring for the wall or would it be better to redo the flooring so it stretches all the way across and shave the bottom of the wall off?

20150326_203229_zpslr5p62g1.jpg

I'd also break it off at the wall so as not to mess up any slot/tab issues. The baseboard will cover any minor irregularities in the ends of the flooring pieces. 

• Like 1

Awesome! Thank you! I was forging ahead confidently, and then some gremlin in my head started ragging on me. Since this is my first build I readily listened to the whole "you have no freakin' idea what you're doing" spiel. I am going to cut longer ones on the kitchen side so I don't have to mess with the fiddly little 3/8" bits. Again, many thanks!

That's what I was afraid of, Debra. My other idea was to put the wall in and then iron the flooring onto cardstock, but the lines might not match up perfectly under the doorway. Not sure anyone will look that closely, but I would know.

Not at all. They suggested covering the iron with tin foil, so I did that and have had to recover several sections as they rip off, but the floor looks great so far. No fumes, no burning. I think the next time I do this, I'm going to try drawing/scribing the lines where this time I cut them all apart. It doesn't take much of a difference to get one "board" quite a bit wider than the rest. I had to do some picking and choosing as I went. This is 3/4" red oak and I've cut 6" and 3" sections, then cut the sections in half lengthwise.

I would imagine it protects the glue on the bottom of the wood from getting onto your iron. If it's a crafting iron and you don't mind, I would guess you could leave it off and just clean any glue off. I might do that tomorrow.