San Franciscan SF 555

reese006

I have acquired an open but un-built San Franciscan SF 555. It still has the instructions and the VHS video (never been played) that comes with it. I have been reading through the instructions and getting things laid out. My question is, is the video worth watching? The only reason I ask is that I gave all our VCR's away many years ago and wanted to know if it was worth me trying to run one down or not. I have a 5 1/2 year old little girl that I know will love the house once built. I am new to the doll house building but feel comfortable in attempting it.

I have been reading many sites and post about tips but any that anyone has would be greatly appreciated.

My first house was the SF555 and I ended up watching the video three times. The only thing I remember from it is that the guy building it on the video kept saying, "If it doesn't fit, whittle away at it until it does." The booklet was far more help.

• Like 1

Haven't built it, and haven't seen the video, but my gut would say don't bother trying to find a player. Use the instruction book, and if/when you get stuck ask away here and there'll be help and suggestions! Good luck, enjoy the build :D

• 1 month later...

Let me know what you end up doing with yours. I just acquired a partially built SF555 earlier today. I brought her and all her many pieces and her box into the garage (where she is going to have to live for a short while). I haven't looked for the instructions yet but will be digging them out shortly. I'm alittle daunted to be honest by the different design of this house. More of things that slip in to slots and less of the flush gluing I am used to. This is my first Dura Craft house. I'm excited but can't work on her for a while.