Advice on first build

jrs

Good Afternoon All,

I am a complete newbie to this hobbie and would like to build a dollhouse for my daughter. She is too young to enjoy it now but I will leave it in her room for when she gets older.

I have a couple of questions.

(1) What tools do you recommend? Do I need a Dremel? Other …

(2) Do you suggest painting with an air brush?

(3) I want to leave the interior for her to do as she gets older (if she gets into it). Is it doable to paint, decorate walls after it has been assembled?

Any other advice would be appreciated.

Thx

JS

Hi, JS, and welcome to the community!

What a lucky little girl! :)

But, Dad, why don't you think about building a house she can play with now and then build a more elaborate one when she's old enough to handle it with care?

You'll probably find it so enjoyable to build the house that you'll want to do another one anyway, so you can incorporate all of the things you learn on the first one. B)

For a younger child, keep it simple. Paint instead of wallpaper (so you can scrub the crayon marks off), no acetate on the windows (in fact, no windows or doors is an option, they like to reach in through the window & door openings), and solid, chunky wooden furniture easy for little hands to move around without knocking off a leg.

A Dremel is useful, especially if you are going to do any bashing, but you can also use emery boards for sanding small pieces.

If you're comfortable with an airbrush, it would work very well.

(3) I want to leave the interior for her to do as she gets older (if she gets into it). Is it doable to paint, decorate walls after it has been assembled?

Depends on the house. Most rooms can be accessed after the building is completed, but some have hard-to-reach areas that need to be addressed before it is completely assembled.

What house are you considering?