Making chimney pots

claireliontamer

I am wanting to make a miniature version of these:

http://www.salvoweb.com/images/userimgs/41948/Chimney-Pots_91115_1.jpg for the top of my house.

I tried this evening with air dry clay but had a bit of a disaster.  I've never worked with clay before, has anyone got any tips?  I'm thinking instead of trying to make them freestanding I need some kind of wooden support in the middle at least part the way up, the thinness of the clay makes them collapse on themselves at the moment. 

Has anyone made anything similar and can guide me?  I have to admit, I saw the shape and stupidly thought it would be fairly simple.......

Instead of trying to deal with thin walls, you could make them solid, gouge out an opening 1/4 to 1/2" deep on top when the clay has set a bit, and paint the inside walls of the resulting well black. 

Smoke and mirrors, eh? :D

• Like 2

What about looking for od chessmen in one of the charity shops and using the pedestal part between the base and the top?  I always thought the miniature candle cup "woodsies": would make nice chimney pots:  http://factorydirectcraft.com/catalog/products/1302_2110_1473-7435-unfinished_wood_candle_cups.html

• Like 2

What about getting some that really do look like chimney pots!............A couple of ££'s from 'Romney Miniatures' right here in the UK.............sometimes you don't have to be ashamed to say 'Hey I purchased this, doesn't it look great'

Thanks, some great suggestions here.  I will give the solid clay another go today after work.