finally making an account

muxia

my name is mark! i'm 21 and from southeast michigan. i'm currently an incoming college freshman, majoring in fisheries & wildlife, and i've loved miniatures just about as long as i can remember. i had friends with kit dollhouses (the burning childhood jealousy lingers), and always adored the miniature displays at the henry ford museum and the art institute of chicago, so i was delighted to receive my willowcrest for christmas in 2019, which i spent most of may 2020 putting together.

i've been in and out of peeping through the forums for the past 2 to 3 years as i worked my way through my willowcrest (which remains tragically uncompleted!!!! moved to an apartment and it couldn't come with :(). never struggled too bad, as the house was built without any major ideas of what i wanted out of it. however, i just ordered my first rgt kit (the 1:24 colonial), and now i am certain i'm going to need help finding resources and building my own miniatures, so i finally decided to join the community!

i'm very excited to get to know everybody better, and am eager to hear the advice of more experienced miniaturists!

my included picture is my willowcrest more or less as it stands now. it has some more shingles, but that's about all i've added!

dollhouse2.jpg

• Like 4

Hi Mark, Welcome, I love your Willowcrest!  I have one still in the box as I'm sure many do!  You've done a beautiful job and I hope you decide to finish her someday.  What made you decide to get a colonial?  Hope you'll share pictures of your progress on your projects!