gluing doll hair

cindy19335

Oh my, got another question for you.

I have a male doll, I want to make him have long hair. I purchased another doll to cut the hair off of, now I want to add this straight hair to the doll.

Anyone have ideas on how to do this. Think I should try to glue it, think I should try to sew it to bias tape and then glue it to the doll??

I'm trying to make this doll look like my son (he has long straight hair which he keeps in a ponytail......dollhouse is for grand-daughter and I'm trying to make family look alikes......

Thanks, thanks thanks for any and all ideas!!

I'm no expert, but this is how I do it. If you want a centre parting:

Put a line of glue (tacky glue or similar) from forehead to the back of the head, slightly off centre. Take a length of hair, place it, spread out, along your glue line so that the cut edge is arranged along the length of the glue line. Leave it to dry. Once dry put a little glue on the opposite side of the head from your length of hair. Flip it over the top onto the glue. Then put another thin line of glue next to your existing hair line on the other side. Take another length of you hair, hold the long end over your existing hair and press down on to your new glue line.

Wait until it is dry, then put a little glue on the bald side of the head and flip the hair over onto it. Once dry trim to desired length.

I hope this doesn't sound too confusing if you get stuck let me know and I'll find a web tutorial for you.

Ellen :)

Hi Cindy,