Newbie Intro

John Z

Hi! I'm John and I'm a complete novice. :blush:

I've always wanted to build one of these dollhouses but I don't have a daughter.

So at the grand old age of 46 I've decided to build one anyway. I've ordered the Harrison and should be receiving it in a couple weeks. Until then I'm going to read the tutorials and get familiar with the instructions.

You've picked a great house for your first. I loved building that one and if you want to see any pictures they are all in my Gallery. You don't need a daughter to build a house. There are many little girls out there that would love to have a dollhouse. You can donate it to your favorite organization, or give it to a neighbor's child. Lots of options! But most of all, have fun and before you know it, you'll be building another one.

Ohh. almost forgot, welcome to the forum!

Welcome to the forum. There are several men on the forum and not all are building for a lady in their life. Some for themselves for the pure enjoyment. My DH helps me with building and loves the mini tools we've collected.

HI and welcome! It's true dollhouses are not just for girls. My son has a log cabin he loves. They are not just for children either. Really they are for anyone. There are so many different aspects of a dollhouse that appeal to lots of different people. As long as you enjoy it who cares what others think or say.

Hi John,

The others are right :thumb: You don't have to have a girl in your life to build dollhouses. I've always enjoyed looking at dollhouses but until a couple of years ago I didn't have any reason to build one... then like you I finally said - oh what the heck! I'm a grown man if I want to work on miniatures I will! Of course what really gave me the courage was seeing Jamie Carringtons Amazing 1:12 scale dolls and Rik Pierces Wonderful houses! These are two top people in the miniatures world - and both guys :D So now I do dollhouse just because I enjoy it :D