New at miniatures/dollhouses...

ladybug324

Hi everyone,

I am new at dollhouses. I recently bought The Pierce kit and just started working on it. I have one sheet missing and so I'm stuck at step 3 for now, but I thought I could use this opportunity to find out if you any of you could offer a newbie some advice/pointers/suggestions. Any kind of pointers would be helpful and much appreciated. It doesn't have to be specific to The Pierce kit either, but those suggestions would be appreciated as well. :)

In particular, I do have a few specific questions that I've been pondering:

1. Type of glue to use?

I've read a lot of books and it seems everyone has a different opinon on this. The Greenleaf instructions says use hot glue, which I started when I made my base. But another book strongly recommended against it. Help?

2. Clamping/masking tape?

Okay, so if I use glue other than a hot glue gun, how do you use clamps and masking tape? (I feel stupid for asking this question, but I've seen many of your photos-in-progress and have seen masking tape used as clamps?) I first tried using a wood glue before I tried the hot glue on my base and it was so frustrating! It wouldn't stick!

3. Wallpapering / flooring / painting / etc....

Okay so books I have read offer different opinions on this as well. What is easier - to wallpaper as you prepare your parts/walls, or to wallpaper when the house is complete?

4. Tape wire vs. round wire

Again I read books that offer different opinions on using tape wire vs. round wire. Opinions? Suggestions?

I'm sorry if these questions are redundant and have been posted in previous threads already. I truly value any input/help you can give me. Even links to helpful sites or suggested reading materials. I have bought so many books and tried to devour them all!! (Well not literally...) :D I even started a subscription to Dollhouse Miniatures. I just want to learn as much as I can!

Thank you so much in advance for your help!

Welcome!