Creekside Cabin

After taking a month's break from mini's and needing to get my mind off some family illness, I decided to break out my Creekside Cabin and get started on it. My original thought was to lightly sand and stain the wood and varnish over it. But when I got the wood out to start sanding one side is a totally different color than the front and the other side. So I think I will need to paint in order for it to match. A distressed/weathered look I think would work. I've never done anything like that before so I need some advice and instructions.

Here is the picture of the front and two sides (before taking them apart) Do you see the stark differences in them? How can I fix this and still have a woodsy look?post-70-1151776722_thumb.jpg

Wow, that's a major color difference.

Ok. You could try would one of the color stains -- dark oak or redwood or maple, whatever color you like, which might cover the difference when it dries. I know the Minwax Polyshades will hide the difference and just show the grain thru (these are really colored poly varnishes), but it leaves a gloss which you might have to sand down -- don't know if they make one with a matte finish. One coat only will not leave a high gloss, but more than one coat and you'll have a glossy surface.

Or you might try this:

To weather it, you can use color washes -- lighter on the dark pieces, of course -- depending on the color you want, I'd start with burnt sienna and a little tan which will give a maple look. You really have to play with the colors to get just the look you want and use a very thin wash. Real log or "weathered" cabins (we have quite a few around here) age to the color of cinnamon deepening to gray to almost black. The tones are never solid 'cause the wood does not age all at the same rate. Try your wash out first, of course, to make sure it dries to the shade you want.

Whatever you do to 'age' your wood, you might try this: