Trouble understanding scale

critter

Hi all! I am very new to the dollhouse/miniature craft and just wanted to ask about measurements. I have also chosen the Orchid as my first build and have not begun building yet but I have started looking at some furniture and other things to put inside the house. I noticed that there are different scales to the furniture (1", 1/2"...) I was wondering if anyone could explain this concept to me. I found a photo of the Orchid furnished but I just think that the furniture looks awfully big to be in such a tiny house. (I have included the photo as an attachment) I was thinking of scaling down a bit. Would this mess with the look of the finished piece? I would love to hear anyone's opinion or advice. I'm sure I will have a million more questions before I even being this project! Thanks!

post-3658-1226078659_thumb.jpg

Figuring out scale can be challenging. To me, the furniture in your picture looks right. 1:12 means "one inch equals one foot (12 inches)". A piece of furniture that is 3 inches tall in "dollhouse" would be 3 FEET tall in real life. A 6 foot tall man would be 6 INCHES tall in a dollhouse doll. If you measure the furniture in your real house, and do the math, you might be able to see how large a kitchen sink would be in a dollhouse, for example.

Having said that -- there is dollhouse furniture that looks "large", and some that is so dainty it looks lost in a larger dollhouse (like my Garfield), even though the Garfield is 1:12 scale. And some of the houses just are smaller, so even if they are 1:12 scale, some of the larger furniture which also is 1:12 looks awkward. So you do sometimes have to just "eye" it, and if it looks awkward to you, then you need to look for the daintier furniture that looks smaller.

We've all been caught in this dilemma, I think, especially when buying on line, as it's hard to tell from the pictures just how "big" something is until you have it in hand, and are placing it in a room.