Started my SF557

Tess11

I finally started my SF557 that I got for my birthday in February. I'm a little frustrated, which is to be expected since this is my first build from a kit. I've only done a remodel before this.

I labeled everything Monday night, and I glued the foundation on Tuesday night and that went just fine. Last night I started to put the side walls on the foundation and the second and third floors on. I guess this takes more patience than I had last night. Every time I would get everything glued, taped, and squared, something else would pop off. No amount of taping, squaring and retrying would work for me last night. I even managed to tear off a bit of the skin of my thumb in the process! :)

So I took it apart and decided to try again when I wasn't tired, hot, and frustrated. dh says I don't have enough patience. I think DH agrees. :happydance: (Maybe I got that backwards, but I can never remember which one is the husband.)

Anyway, I'll try it again tonight and after whining here, it may go smoothly. I'm thinking that if the first set of walls is so hard for me, heaven help me when I get to the tower!!!

I can never remember which one is the husband
DH is dear husband and dh is dollhouse and reading your post
dh says I don't have enough patience. I think DH agrees.
it looks like you got it right.

Is the 557 the MDF version? Because of the peculiarities of Dura-Craft construction you can square to your heart's content & it seems like something's always out of true when it's together, with gaps. I've built the SF555 and also the Cambridge, so you'd think I'd learned my lesson; but no, I have a Newburg in the box waiting its turn.

Is the 557 the MDF version? Because of the peculiarities of Dura-Craft construction you can square to your heart's content & it seems like something's always out of true when it's together, with gaps.