First Dollhouse - question about wood stain removal mistakes

Jupitercrash74

Greetings!

I have been working on my first dollhouse (The Beacon Hill) for a few months, and have run into an issue that I can't seem to fix.  I was unsure how I wanted to decorate, so I began building according to the instructions without staining/painting any of the pieces.  After building the first floor staircase, I thought that it would be difficult to stain the stairs after they were glued into the house, and decided to stain them ahead of time.  I tested numerous stain colors on the scrap plywood before finding a mixture I was happy with.  When I applied the stain to the stairs, the color came out much darker and more red than any of my test samples.  In an attempt to lighten the color, I used fine steel wool and mineral spirits.  I was able to lighten the stain, however, this has led to a new issue.  The day after I applied the mineral spirits, one piece of wood had small black spots all over.  I began to worry that it could be mold.  My husband suggested sanding that piece down until there were no longer black spots (which I did).  I read that white vinegar kills mold on wood, and applied some just to be on the safe side.  About 20 minutes after applying the vinegar, the black spots that I had sanded off the night before appeared again (I have attached a photo link).  Do you think that this is mold, and if so, is there anything else I should try?  Would Greenleaf allow me to order more pieces if this cannot be salvaged?  Unfortunately I made the mistake of gluing the stairs together before staining, so I would need quite a few pieces.  Has anyone else had issues with stain color looking inconsistent on different pieces of the plywood? 

I appreciate anyone taking the time to read this and offer advice!

Cheers!

Jayme 

https://imgur.com/a/r90vpRy

I doubt it's mold, but have no idea what caused the spots.  Here's something you can try: