Question about painting

louanne

I am new at this sight, I have the Fairfield that I've just begun working on. My question is what type of paint do most people use? I have tons of the standard acrylic paint that you can buy at any craft store for about a dollar, but the directions say to use a semi-gloss latex paint (is slighlty more exspensive, and unless you get it mixed it's harder to get the color you want, also end up with a ton of it) Is the standard acrlylic paint good enough, I don't want the finish to look dull.

All I use is the craft paints and they do not come out dull for me. If you are not sure try it on a scap piece. You can always poly over the top of paint if you want it really shiny. ( I would try that on scap first to make sure you like it)

You can invest in a quart of semi-gloss white interior latex paint and mix it with minute amounts of your acrylic craft paints to get custom colors. I think I read the original idea for this from Darrell, and it works a dream!

Hi Louanne,

I just use craft paint. But I also don't like a real shiney finish. My colors have not turned out dull looking to me but too much glossy finish really bothers me. I'd say try what ever you're thinking of on a scrap piece and go with what you like ^_^

-David :o

I also use the craft paint from wal-mart....but I like softer versions so I buy cheepo inerior paint or use leftover from a household project and mix my own....make sure to mix plenty! and dont throw it away untill there is no way you will need to make a touch up! ask me why I know this? ^_^

I also mix pool filter sand in the paint for a stuccoed look for ceilings and roofs

and remember you can always paint over it if you dont like it!

nutti :o

I've used both and liked the results each time. I prefer using semi gloss latex just because they cover better, but the craft paints work very well for smaller areas. For a small house like the Fairfield, I think the craft paints would be just perfect.